In this article we will discuss the effect of resetting network settings on Android and iOS. We have numerous alternatives for resetting Android and iOS to get over issues when appropriate. You can reset app preferences (Android), privacy settings (iOS), and various other items.
Both iOS and Android have the option to restore the original network settings. If your phone has connectivity issues, a majority of people would tell you to reset the network settings.
There’s no explanation of what happens after that. You can reset it, is it safe? Here you will find information on how to reset your network settings on Android and iOS devices and what happens when you Reset Network Settings on Android and iOS
The need to reset network settings is vital.
To return the network settings to their original condition. When it is done, it will return everything back to the default settings, including WiFi, Bluetooth, VPN, and cellular. To be more specific, you’d have to start over from scratch.
Let’s check Effect of Resetting Network Settings on Android and iOS
Bluetooth devices connected
Bluetooth connections will be deleted as well. In other words, all the associated Bluetooth devices will be forgotten when the network settings are reset. The two things you must couple together again are given as your tasks.
Saved Wireless connection & passwords
Wi-Fi will also be turned on if your device’s Wi-Fi was previously turned off. You should manually disable Wi-Fi after performing the reset if you have mobile data usage that you would prefer to use even though you’re leaving Wi-Fi on.
In Android resetting network configurations often becomes a problem because of Wi-Fi. You will erase every saved Wi-Fi network and their passwords when you do this. In other words, once you have reset your connection, you will have to connect to a network and provide your Wi-Fi details again. You should record your Wi-Fi passwords before resetting.
As an iOS user, when you reset your Wi-Fi settings and then enter your saved Wi-Fi password, your password is erased from the iCloud Keychain. However, to avoid this, simply use a special trick. The only thing you need to do is deactivate Keychain on your phone before you go through the process of reconfiguring network settings. After signing in again, all of your passwords will be in the Keychain again.
Finally, network settings reset not only affects your VPN (Virtual Private Network) settings, but also your network settings. A lot of VPN information is removed from your phone, such as the server name, password, VPN type, and so on.
Custom cellular settings
Furthermore, cellular settings are also adversely affected. The selection of preferred mobile network types (2G, 3G, 4G, LTE), as well as the network selection methods, are also involved. Non-voice communication services, such as SMS and phone calls, are not affected. Even if your SIM card is in the phone, your mobile data remains same.
Resetting Network Settings Does Not Affect
As for all other network settings, such as hotspot, wireless display, and AirDrop (on iOS), it does not affect them.
What happens to your personal data during network reset
The data on your phone is not at risk when you reset your network settings. Everything you save to your device’s storage remains.
You must reset network settings when:
Here are some instances in which you might want to use it:
- Bluetooth is unavailable
- If your phone is not receiving a signal
- Wi-Fi connection constantly drops.
- Having trouble making and receiving callsIf Wi-Fi is not working on your phone
- You’re not going to get a signal until you connect to a Wi-Fi network.
How to Reset Android and iOS 15 Network Settings
Steps to follow in both cases are given below.
iPhone and iPad
- Open setting from home screen
- Scroll and Tap General
- Tap Transfer or Reset iPhone
- Tap Reset
- Popup having various reset options will open. Choose Reset Network Setting
- If you have set passcode it will prompt to enter passcode.
- Device will restart, and your network settings will restore to the default setting.
The location of this setting differs depending on Android. Locate it using the following resources:
- Open Settings
- Scroll & Tap System
- Tap Advanced
- Tap Reset options
- Tap Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth.
Why You Should Reset Your Network Settings
Resetting your device’s network settings may solve any problems with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or cellular internet connectivity that you are experiencing. Having to reconfigure Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connections is inconvenient, but it is also known to fix numerous problems.
Network reset alternative
A good practise before you decide to reset your network settings is to run specific network tests. Check the web to see if others have experienced the same issue and try some of the following suggestions known to fix network and internet problems.
- Use another device to check your internet connection.
- Power off and restart your device.
- Turn Airplane Mode on and off.
- Turn your modem and router on and off.
- Updates mobile device OS
Resetting your network settings is an option, but it doesn’t always work. You may have to perform a factory reset if you’ve tried everything else. The factory reset option (which is usually last resort) does exactly that. It deletes almost everything from your device.