WhatsApp features that you may lose if you refuse to accept the new privacy policy

WhatsApp’s new privacy policy has sparked debate. With the May 15 deadline approaching, there is far too much ambiguity surrounding the company’s new  privacy policy and terms of service. Users still appear to be unaware of the entire WhatsApp gimmick, and the company is largely to blame for this.

Just two days ago, WhatsApp clarified that users will not lose access to their accounts if they refuse to accept the policy, but now reports indicate that users will lose access to some critical features if they refuse to accept the policy.

Following the uproar over WhatsApp’s new privacy policies, Facebook has decided to delay changes to the way the two social networks share data.

WhatsApp features that you may lose if you refuse to accept the new privacy policy
WhatsApp features that you may lose if you refuse to accept the new privacy policy 1

According to Gizmodo, WhatsApp updated a support article on its website this week with additional information about the upcoming privacy changes. While the company reiterates that users’ accounts will not be deleted, WhatsApp has now stated that users who refuse to accept the new terms will experience “limited functionality” on their accounts.

WhatsApp features that you may lose if you refuse to accept the new privacy policy
WhatsApp features that you may lose if you refuse to accept the new privacy policy 2
  • Once the persistent reminder is displayed, the app’s functionality will gradually be reduced – unless the user accepts the updated policy.
  • The company continued by stating that this will not affect all users simultaneously.
  • Users will initially be able to answer phone calls and video calls but not their chat lists; however, if they have notifications enabled, they will be able to reply to messages and return missed calls.
  • After a few weeks, WhatsApp will cease sending messages or making calls to the user’s device.

Users who do not agree to the terms will not have their accounts deleted. They can export their chat history and download a report of their account before moving to another platform and deleting their WhatsApp account.

Popular posts

- Advertisement -

You might also like...