Factory Reset A Mac

Doing Factory Reset A Mac the Right Way

Mac computers are generally reliable, but like any other computer, sometimes things go wrong so Factory Reset A Mac will help. But before buying a new Mac, you can try resetting to the manufacturer setting. Factory Reset A Mac will wipe your computer and reset the clean version of macOS. Also, Factory Reset A Mac is the best way to prepare an old computer for the new owner to avoid getting data in the wrong hands. This process has been the same for many years on Macintoshes with Intel processors, but switching to Apple Silicon has slightly changed the way operating systems are wiped and reinstalled. Therefore, you can remove the hard drive and reinstall the operating system on your Mac, whether or not it has Apple’s M1 chip or Intel component features.


Before you start: Back up your Mac

How to do backup using SuperDuper

Before you delete anything from your Mac, you need to make sure that you back up all the files, documents, and other contents you want to save. If you only need a backup of an item, you can move its content to an external storage device such as a USB stick or copy it to a web hosting service such as Dropbox, iCloud, or Google Docs.

However, if you have a lot of content that you want to save, it may be easier to duplicate the entire contents of the disk to an external drive. When copying a hard disk, not only copy all applications and user files, but also the entire OS. In fact, it makes a complete copy of your Mac that you can access at any time. It’s a good way to make sure you’re used to losing nothing when wiping your Mac’s hard drive. You can also hang a clone until you’re sure you’ll clone it and remember to copy the important ones to your new Mac. Cloning a drive is also a great way to install a new Mac.

You can use this drive as a boot loader connected to your new machine, boot it on your original Mac, and effectively turn your new computer into a complete copy of your old computer. There are various applications that you can use to duplicate your Mac, but this tutorial uses SuperDuper. To clone, you need an external hard drive that is at least the same size as your Mac’s main drive. You also need to configure this drive.

  • Connect your external drive to your Mac.
  • Open a Finder window and go to Applications / Utilities.
  • Run the utility app Disk Utility
  • Select a backup from the Left-hand menu.
  • Select the Partition tab. Give the drive a descriptive name and select Mac OS Deployment from the Format drop-down list.
  • Install SuperDuper.
  • You need to give it permission to access your entire system.
  • After the installation, SuperDuper launches the System Preferences app.
  • Click on the lock and type in your password.
  • Next, click on +, browse to Applications, and select SuperDuper.
  • Launch of Superduper. Then click the blank value under Copy and select the target disk. Click Copy It can take several hours, especially if you have gigabytes of files.
  • After the copy process is complete, you can boot from the duplicate disk.
  • To do this, hold down the Option key while your Macintosh is booting and select the second hard drive. Or you can insert it into a new hard drive or another Mac and keep it working as if nothing had happened!

Erase your Data

You must select a user with administrator privileges and enter your account information before you can access the computer startup options.

  • Once fully in macOS Recovery, select the Utility Disk option to remove the hard disk.
  • In the Disk Utility dialog box, under Internal Header, select Drive Macintosh HD, and then click Remove on the top toolbar.
  • A dialog box appears asking for the DRIVE name and format. Save the name as Macintosh HD and make sure the format is set to APFS or Mac OS.
  • Click Remove Volume Group to remove the drive and also remove other internal drives to permanently remove the computer and avoid errors during the re-installation process.
  • Return to the Recovery screen from the Disk Utility window.
  • Once this process is complete, you will not be able to recover any deleted data left on the drive. If you still wonder what’s on your hard drive, it’s a good idea to first back up using a time machine or sync your important files to iCloud.

Preparing Input Device

If your Mac is associated with a keyboard, mouse, tracker, or other Bluetooth device you should save and then disconnect. This optional step helps prevent erroneous input if your Mac and device have different owners but are within Bluetooth range of each other. If you want to disconnect your Bluetooth input device from your desktop, such as your iMac, Mac mini, or Mac Pro, you’ll need to connect a USB keyboard and mouse to complete the rest of the steps in this article.

To remove a Bluetooth device, go to Apple> System Preferences Menu, click Move the cursor to the device you want to remove, and then click the Remove button next to the device name.

Accounts Signout

After moving your data to your new Mac or making an up-to-date backup to save your data, delete all your traces from your machine. First, you need to get out of all your accounts. Previously it was done via iTunes, but at an iTunes meeting late last year you can now get out using the music, TV, or book app.

  • Open one of these applications and select Accounts> Permissions> Deauthorize this computer.
  • You’ll need to enter your Apple ID and password and click the Deauthorize button.
  • Next, you need to disable Find My Mac and quit iCloud. Go to System Preferences> Apple ID, click iCloud in the left pane, and uncheck Find Mac. Then click Overview in the left panel, then click the Sign Out button.
  • Finally, you need to get out of the message. Open the Messages app, choose Messages> Preferences, click the iMessage tab, and click Sign Out.

Factory Reset A Mac

If you want to sell or trade on your computer, whether it’s your iMac or MacBook, we recommend Factory Reset A Mac. This means resetting your computer to factory default and reinstalling the latest macOS software. To do that:

  • Restart your computer: Hold down the power button and select Restart when you see Restart
  • While your computer is restarting, press Command and R
  • Press and hold. When you see the Apple logo, release the command and the R key.
  • When the Restore Mode menu appears, select Disc Utility
  • In the Disk Services window, select Erase and make sure the Macintosh HD boot disk is highlighted.
  • A pop-up window will appear. Change the Format to Extended MacOS and select Erase once more.
  • Select Quit Disk Utility. Then a window appears with options to reinstall macOS> select install macOS
  • After installing a new macOS, your computer will be installed mission Factory Reset A Mac accomplished.

What is the recovery mode for Mac?

Apple’s Recovery Mode is Mac’s default toolset, created to provide a secure Mac boot option for restoring Macs, first introduced in 2011 with the release of Mac OS X Lion. The ability to boot into recovery mode greatly simplifies macOS reinstallation, but gives the user more control. MacBook Recovery Mode makes your Mac safer to use. For example, if your Mac has a T2 security chip and you use macOS from an external drive, you can only boot into Mac recovery mode. From the user’s point of view, MacBook or iMac recovery mode is the window you get when you restart your Mac using your Mac’s startup key.

Backup Time Machine Recover from device and restart macOS Help when you get a backup copy of Disk Utility Time Machine is irrelevant in case of a hard drive crash, and if you reinstall macOS, a newer version Or you may get an older version, use Safari to get online help, and Disk Utility will help you pinpoint the problem with your hard drive. Here’s how to restart your MacBook Pro restore mode at any time.

  • Once the computer turns off, hold Command + R until the Apple logo appear.
  • Release the keys and allow the Mac to boot up. This may take some time to load, so be patient. Instead of opening your desktop as normal, your Mac will boot into Recovery Mode.
  • You will need to choose the appropriate user profile and enter a password before gaining full control.
  • In macOS Utilities Windows, you now have the option to restore from Time Machine backup, install a new copy of macOS, access help documentation, repair damaged Disk, or erase all data.

Read More | How to Take Sreenshot in Mac

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *